The Paper Trail Front Page FBCC: Working to Make a Great Community Even Better

FBCC: Working to Make a Great Community Even Better

[spacer height=”20px”]


[spacer height=”20px”]

      It is appropriate that during this week of Thanksgiving that the Flour Bluff Citizens Council Board of Directors came together to finalize the creation of the organization.  Many Flour Bluff citizens have pondered the creation of such a group for many years. At last, the time is right, and God has blessed the community with a group of people who are committed to making it better in the Bluff.

     On October 25, 2016, the Flour Bluff Citizens Council, held a general meeting where the members in good standing elected nine board members and one non-voting, ex officio member to serve on the board of directors.  The board includes Weston Beseda, Justin Green, Chris Hooper, Kyle Pape, James Skrobarczyk, Greg Smith (ex officio), Lloyd Stegemann, Shirley Thornton, Jonathan Vela, and Jennifer Welp.

      The FBCC Board of Directors met, elected officers, and established committees on November 21, 2016.  The results follow:


President: Shirley Thornton, 2-year term
Vice-president: Chris Hooper, 1-year term
Secretary: Jennifer Welp, 2-year term
Treasurer: Weston Beseda, 1-year term

Committees and Chairpersons:

Parks and Recreation: Lloyd Stegemann
Homelessness: Chris Hooper and Weston Beseda
Litter and Illegal Dumping: Kyle Pape
Area Development Plan: James Skrobarczyk
Emergency Services: Jennifer Welp and Jonathan Vela
Preservation of Flour Bluff History: Shirley Thornton
Fundraising and Community Projects: Shirley Thornton (A general member who is interested in heading up this committee may contact the board about an appointment as chairperson.)

Note:  The committee chairpersons are in need of help from the general membership. If anyone is interested in working in a particular area, please email the board ([email protected]) or let them know at the January general meeting.

     The board  authorized Public Relations Chairperson Lynn Kaylor to develop a website and set up a MailChimp account for sending out bulk email. The official snail mail address that may be shared with other Flour Bluff residents and business owners who wish to join by mailing in the Membership Application and $5 yearly dues is as follows:

Flour Bluff Citizens Council
PO Box 181176
Corpus Christi, Texas 78480


Weston Beseda is a life-long Flour Bluff resident, married to an amazing wife with two boys. He is currently a Captain with NASCC Fire Department and has had an active affiliation with Nueces County ESD2 , Flour Bluff Fire Department, for over a decade. He has been involved with the Citizens Council since its inception wants to continue to improve an already amazing community to keep it on the right track so as to preserve it for his children and his children’s children. He looks forward to working with council members as well as other officials within the community and the City of Corpus Christi.

Justin P. Green is a litigation attorney with the law firm Herrman & Herrman, P.L.L.C.  He is a graduate of Flour Bluff High School.  He earned his Bachelor’s of Business Administration in Management from Texas A&M University in 2009 and his Juris Doctor with Honors from the University of Akron School of Law in 2013.  He currently resides in Flour Bluff with his wife, Julie.

NOTE:  A Membership Application and other information about the Flour Bluff Citizens Council can be found at their Facebook page.  Click below.